Alcohol Convictions for DWI
(Statutory References: 302.302, 577.010, and 577.012, RSMo)
Third or Subsequent DWI Offense
Conviction of three or more DWI's within 10 years results may mean that the driver is deemed to be a "Persistent Offender" and guilty of a Class D Felony. There will also be a 10 year denial of driving privileges.
• JAIL: Up to five (5) years in prison.
• FINE: Up to $5,000.00, plus court costs of between $10.00 to $100.00.
• PROBATION: Missouri law prohibits a suspended execution of sentence for a felony DWI. The court may suspend execution of sentence after 10 days in jail or 60 days of community service. The defendant is then placed on probation.
• REVOCATION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES: Upon a third or subsequent criminal conviction for DWI, the defendant's driver's license is revoked for 10 years regardless of how old the two prior convictions are. These suspensions go on the person's driving record. If convicted of a felony DWI, no hardship license is available. If the DWI is a third, but not a felony, a hardship license may be applied for after 3 years. The court must also require that a person be restricted to driving a motor vehicle which has an ignition interlock device while on probation. The device costs $50.00-100.00 to install and $50.00-$75.00 per month to maintain.
We are Missouri lawyers in St. Louis who specialize in Third Offense Felony DWI cases. If you or someone you love are facing a DWI charge for the third time, please contact a Missouri DWI lawyer as soon as your arrest takes place. Our Firm will fully investige your case before recommending any disposition.
Please note: We have not yet updated this site to include the 2010 changes to the DWI laws in Missouri. We are in the process of drafting updated content for publication very shortly. In any event, if you have been charged with a DWI, time is of the essence, and you should contact a Missouri DWI attorney immediately upon being arrested for DWI in order to know your rights and preserve them.